No filters, crazy honest, crazy fun

And that they do. Most of you know that recently I did sort a sexy little photo shoot. I didn’t do it for anyone but myself. But then I saw the pictures and all I could do was think about how empowered and beautiful I felt. With the flaws, the imperfections, the scars. I still as beautiful as ever.10728678_10152756270042180_716130820_nAs you can see in this photo quite clearly on the left side of my body I have a scar. You can only see about 6″ inches of the scar. The scar in total is closer to 11 1/2- 12 inches or so. It goes from the my side most of the way up my back. And I am DAMN proud of this scar. I wear it proudly. 8 (gosh) almost 9 years ago I had an experimental spinal surgery because I had a very bad case of Scoliosis. I spent 1 week in the ICU and then another 2 weeks in the standard hospital. I look and see this scar every single day remember what a fighter I was. How strong I was at 17 to have an experimental surgery and live through it. 

I remember the day where I used to wear long XL flannel button up shirts to hide my brace. I remember when I would never wear a bathing suit, or a crop top, or anything at all that showed skin. That turned me into a SUPER modest person until I was able to come out of my shell. 

I had an anterior spinal fusion. L5-T11 I believe is what they keep telling. There is still a lot that I cannot do. One of which is stand on my feet for more than 15 minutes at a time. Sounds dumb right? Its not…..I had a lot of nerve damage during surgery so if I stand longer than 15 minutes pins and needles happen, and then sharp knives happen. 

But just look at that photo above….do you see imperfection? Do you see ugly? Do you see intimidation? Do you see a young lady being modest? Because I dont. I see a beautiful woman who wants to show the world that no matter what….scars, birth marks, etc, whatever god gave you…Makes YOU WHO YOU ARE! Don’t ever be ashamed of it. 

Photo credit to: https://www.facebook.com/revealedbygp

Leave a Reply

